Global team care

Multi-disciplinary Cleft Lip and Palate team of Lausanne, CHUV

Facial clefts (lip, lip and alveolus, with or without cleft of the palate) are also referred to as CLP. These are among the most common congenital anomalies in human.

One out of 700 newborns may have a cleft of the lip and/or palate.

fig1

However frequent these anomalies may be, the fact that their baby may be affected will represent a shock and a major challenge for parents. Parents will be anxious about their child’s future, his/her physical as well as psychological development and well-being.

They know there will be esthetical and functional sequelae which will require complex treatments.

Prenatal diagnosis and its impact on future parents. 

The pediatric surgeon of the team, will be the first member of the team that parents will be in contact with. Sometimes very early, if prenatal diagnosis of a facial cleft has been made during a routine ultrasound examination. A well-organized consultation system has been set in our team, with monthly discussions between future parents and the surgeon.

These consultations aim at informing parents as thoroughly as possible, in order to somehow make them “experts“ in the field of facial clefting. But the primary goal is to relieve their anxiety and stress, explain that the anomaly is not a rare incidence, that it has adequate solutions etc… Too much information is not what we intend to give. The amount of information that parents need is variable and it is our responsibility to deliver it according to their real needs.

We know that parents, as soon as they have been informed of the diagnosis, will rush on the web and seek information. What they will see then is sometimes more disturbing than reassuring. We will not discourage them to surf on this ocean of informations, but we certainly want to channel their search, explain as precisely as possible the diagnosis that ultrasound investigation made possible.

One has to make it very clear to them what one can see, but also (and as important) what one does not see. It is important to give as much details as possible, but at the same time, downsize the future sequelae and importance of the surgery involved. Or at least, give them the right size of these sequelae and surgical solutions.

All parents experience a shock at being told of a prenatal diagnosis of a facial anomaly. However, if a member of the cleft team meets with them immediately, he/she will face disoriented, shocked future parents who are not ideally receptive for an exhaustive information. Stress and anxiety dominate their feelings. Retrospectively, parents have told us when questioned about the ideal timing of the first meeting after diagnosis, that the beat timing would be a few days (but no more than a week) after prenatal diagnosis.

Multi-disciplinary team care

We would like to introduce you to our multi-disciplinary team and discuss its organization and particularly its involvment in delivering the best treatment it can offer to your child. The team is devoted not only to your child’s, but also to your well-being. The CLP team consists of specialists working together with the aim of offering the best treatment possible to their patients, thanks to an optimal coordination of measures.

First of all, the team must gain the trust of parents and patients, and be ready to give them all the necessary information they need. Only a multi-disciplinary team will be able to assist parents and patients, and offer them efficient and optimal care, depending on medical priorities (objective factors) and personal expectations (subjective needs). The pediatric surgeon of the team, together with the orthodontist, will take care of the baby soon after his/her birth.

When a pre-natal diagnosis could be set, parents usually received information from the radiologist and the pediatric surgeon, and sometimes even from the psychologist of the team. However, when such an early diagnosis was not possible (as for instance in the case of a cleft of the palate without cleft of the lip), parents will have many questions regarding the future of their child.

Their first need is information. Although the internet may represent a useful source of information, direct and personal communication remains by far the best way to inform and reassure parents during this critical period.

Sans titre 54 The newborn may experience some difficulties in feeding. Often do we have to make a feeding plate in order for the baby to feed in a normal way, i.e., in a reasonable time and without reflux. tetee

Such a plate is very useful and helps the child until the surgical closure of the cleft.

The surgical closure of the cleft will have to be programmed on an individual basis; the procedures usually are performed during the first year of life. The timing and technique differ from center to center, and all surgeons do not agree on these matters. Later, the baby will be followed by his/her pediatrician, like all kids.

Children born with a facial cleft will be followed also by the cleft team, with a strict schedule and according to the child’s needs and wishes. Because the various sequelae of facial clefts require the coordinated care of a group of well trained and experienced specialists.

The team is active at two levels: regular team consultations and therapeutical activity of the various ten members. Team work has many benefits for the patient, his/her parents and family, as well as for the various team members who coordinate rehabilitation efforts. Facial clefts share a high prevalence, but also a great variability in forms and severity. The large variability seen at birth will express itself in a large variability of consequences (sequelae) on anatomy, development, aesthetics and function of teeth and face.

Impact on feeding and breathing.

These functions are vital. Suction and feeding may be difficult because the newborn may not be able to generate sufficient negative pressure in the mouth due to the existing communication between oral and nasal cavities. Breastfeeding is compromized in the presence of a cleft palate. Bottle feeding is usually possible with some adjustment.

pierrerobinBreathing may also be disturbed, particularly in babys born with the anomaly known as “Pierre Robin Sequence“, a congenital condition that associates a cleft of the palace, mandibular retrognathism (micromandible) (Fig. at right) and glossoptosis (large tongue obstructing in part the upper airway). Glossoptosis interferes with breathing because of its position, high and back in the region of the pharynx.

Sans titre 45

A feeding plate is sometimes useful for the newborn and for that purpose, an impression must be taken by the orthodontist of the team. The impression is made at the hospital usually within 24 hours after birth.

The feeding plate is made in the lab with a special two-layered acrylic resin: the area in contact with the babys’ mucosa is soft, the outside surface (in contact with the tongue during feeding) being in hard, polished and resistent.

Sans titre 52The feeding plate is perfectly adapted to the palate of the baby, who will adapt in a very short time (usually 24 hours). The plate makes feeding easier, because it obturates effectively the oro-nasal communication that exists when there is a cleft of the palate.

Suction is made possible, enabling the baby to bottle-feed almost normally.

In our center, the first surgical intervention will be the surgical closure of the soft palate cleft. It takes place when the baby is 4 months old. The fine sutures which are left are vulnerable and must be protected during the healing phase. The feeding plate is useful to that purpose, avoiding any aggression by outside objects like pacifier, finger sucking, toys, etc…).

After the second surgical intervention (closure of the cleft of the hard palate and lip), the feeding plate will not be useful anymore and will be discarded. Contacts with memebers of the cleft team will be less frequent for a while. Routine consultations with the pediatrician, the pediatric surgeon, the orthodontist and ENT specialist will be organized.

Around the age of 6 years, a diagnostic review will take place. A multi-disciplinary consultation will be called, during which the child will be examined, his/her needs evaluated and any active treatment will be planned, as priorities will become evident.

Priority is not yet orthodontical in nature. Deciduous teeth are still in place and one will only observe évolution and discuss apparent or future potential problems, as well as give dental hygiene advices.

Priority is speech. Before entering school, the child needs to be examined and his/her speech status assessed. A cleft of the palate may be associated with development problems of speech. Nasality of some degree is sometimes observed. Soft palate is responsible for the physiological closure of the upper airway during articulation of certain sounds. If it is not able to fulfill this role, then too much air escapes into the nasal cavities and speech is altered, resulting in what is referred to as nasality.

Even though soft palate is repaired early, its optimal muscular function may not be always possible. Nasality and compensatory phenomena may develop and require speech therapy. This is a priority before school age, in order for the child to enter school with the best possible chances of social integration. Most of the time, speech therapy will result in minimizing or eliminating speech problems related with cleft of the palate.

In some cases however, speech therapy may not be 100% successful and a surgical procedure called pharyngo-plasty may be indicated.  Details of this procedure are outside the scope of this introduction. Such secondary surgical procedures are discussed in the course of the child’s multi-disciplinary meetings.

ENT (Ear-Nose-Throat) specialty.

Cleft may affect ENT functions in various ways. Nasal septum deviation is frequently encountered and may affect breathing. Otitis media is a common problem in patients with cleft palate. This may cause hearing loss which in turn can cause speech development and acquisition. Therefore, routine ENT examination is of utmost importance.

At any time during growth and development of the child and adolescent, psychological problems may arise. Adaptation difficulties, even if rare, may still be a handicap and must find proper assistance and support, even therapy. Parents may need psychological support, to help themselves and their child.

Josée Despars, PhD, is our team member specialized in psychological therapy of  children and adolescents. She is the author of a unique book, unfortunately only available in french at this time, called: “Zoé et le flocon de Max”. Her book explains facial clefts and their consequences to small kids, siblings. It received a fantastic echo in the public and is accessible on the following link:

http://www.lajoiedelire.ch/catalog/hors_collection/zoe_et_le_flocon_de_max

In conclusion, multi-disciplinary team consultations allow for periodic examination of the child, assessment of his/her development and related problems, as well as coordinated planning of treatment according to the patient’s needs and priorities.

For parents, these consultations are opportunities to express their needs, try to receive answers to their numerous questions and get as comprehensive information as possible.

Leave a Reply

les fentes faciales: séquelles et solutions thérapeutiques ………………………………………………… cleft lip & palate: sequelae & therapeutic solutions ……………………………………………….. Lippen-Kiefer-Gaumenspalten: ihre Konzequenzen und die therapeutischen Lösungen

PRISE EN CHARGE GLOBALE Cleft Lip & Palate Care Team LKG Behandlung

Équipe pluri-disciplinaire FLMP de Lausanne (CHUV)  Swiss Multidisciplinary Cleft Lip & Palate Team     (University Hospital Lausanne, Switzerland)

all the information you’ll need, also in english and german

Les fentes faciales (labiales, labio-maxillaires, labio-maxillo-palatines et les fentes palatines isolées ou, pour utiliser un terme généralisateur: les FLMP) représentent l’une des malformations congénitales les plus fréquentes.

Un bébé sur 700 naît avec une fente labiale et/ou palatine.

fig1Le fait que cette malformation soit si fréquente ne saurait la banaliser aux yeux des parents.

Ils accueilleront leur enfant avec des appréhensions et craintes légitimes quant à son développement et aux séquelles futures que cette affection congénitale pourrait avoir sur les plans esthétiques et fonctionnels.

Cette page présente l’équipe FLMP du CHUV, et résume son fonctionnement en traçant les grandes lignes de son implication dans la prise en charge des enfants et adolescents atteints d’une fente labio-maxillo-palatine. Elle aborde, de la manière la plus complète possible, une partie des problèmes et séquelles que cette malformation congénitale peut avoir.

La raison d’être du team FLMP est de réunir des spécialistes particulièrement intéressés à la réhabilitation des patients présentant ce type de malformation, afin d’optimiser les soins qu’elle pourra dispenser. Mais avant même que d’agir, l’équipe ainsi constituée a un devoir d’information crucial à remplir: fournir aux parents une information complète, individualisée et, surtout, compréhensible.

Pour assister les parents et l’enfant, offrir des soins optimaux en fonction des priorités (objectives) et des demandes (subjectives), seule une équipe pluri-disciplinaire pourra se révéler performante. Cette équipe doit associer des spécialistes de toutes les disciplines médicales et para-médicales que les séquelles des fentes pourraient intéresser, à un moment ou à un autre du développement du nourrisson, du jeune enfant, de l’adolescent et, enfin, du jeune adulte.

C’est ainsi que le bébé, dès sa naissance, sera pris en charge par le chirurgien pédiatrique du team et,  simultanément, par l’orthodontiste. Les premiers besoins sont des besoins d’information. Celle-ci peut être directe et personnelle et/ou écrite comme cette publication.

Le Web offre bien sûr une source immense de renseignements, mais avec le danger de s’y perdre, voire d’obtenir des informations erronées. Ce besoin d’information est pris extrêmement au sérieux par notre équipe et les parents bénéficient d’une prise en charge très active dès le diagnostic de la malformation connu (Diagnostic anté-natal…). Sans titre 54 Pour le bébé, des problèmes alimentaires peuvent se poser et il est  fréquent que l’on doive confectionner une plaque de tétée pour faciliter l’alimentation du bébé jusqu’à  la fermeture chirurgicale de la lèvre et du palais. Ces interventions chirurgicales doivent être programmées de manière individuelle et selon un « timing » assez strict (Chirurgie Primaire).

Plus tard, l’enfant devra être suivi, comme tous les enfants, par son pédiatre, mais aussi par l’équipe pluri-disciplinaire des fentes, car son état et les séquelles de sa malformation impliqueront l’intervention de spécialistes entraînés et expérimentés. Le fonctionnement de cette équipe s’articule sur deux plans: une activité de consultation commune (colloques organisés à intervalles réguliers) et une activité thérapeutique directe (traitements, soins et conseils délivrés directement par le praticien).

Les avantages du travail en équipe sont multiples, aussi bien pour le patient, son entourage et particulièrement ses parents, que pour les divers praticiens appelés à offrir leurs services thérapeutiques. Les fentes faciales ont en commun leur fréquence élevée, mais une grande variabilité caractérise les multiples formes que peut prendre cette malformation.

Cette variabilité au niveau de la forme (au moment de la naissance) sera associée, logiquement, à une grande diversité au niveau des conséquences (séquelles) qu’elle peut avoir sur l’anatomie, le développement, l’esthétique et la fonction de l’appareil masticateur et, au-delà, sur tout le complexe craniofacial. La diversité  des fentes faciales fait l’objet d’un autre article.

Conséquences sur l’alimentation et la respiration du bébé.

Ces fonctions vitales doivent être assurées en priorité. Une FLMP peut rendre la succion et, par conséquent, l’alimentation du bébé (allaitement ou biberon) difficile. La lèvre  et le palais divisés sont pratiquement incapables d’assurer un joint étanche, du fait de la communication entre les cavités buccale et nasale. Le nourrisson n’est pas en mesure de produire le vide d’air nécessaire à l’aspiration du lait maternel ou à l’alimentation au biberon. pierrerobin

La respiration peut également être perturbée, particulièrement chez les enfants présentant une anomalie connue sous le nom de « séquence Pierre Robin« , une anomalie congénitale associant fente palatine, micromandibulie et glossoptose. (ci-contre).

La glossoptose (langue hypotonique et volumineuse) interfère avec la respiration par sa position très postérieure, encombrant les voies aériennes supérieures dans la région de l’oro-pharynx. Le chirurgien pédiatrique pédiatrique de l’équipe, entrant le premier en contact avec les parents (parfois déjà avant la naissance lorsqu’un diagnostic anté-natal par ultra-sonographie a pu être établi) et l’orthodontiste discuteront dès la première semaine de vie de la nécessité de confectionner une orthèse en cas de difficultés prévisibles ou avérées de l’alimentation et/ou de la respiration du bébé.

Sans titre 45

Une orthèse (plaque de tétée ou plaque palatine) nécessite la prise d’une empreinte par l’orthodontiste. Cette empreinte se fait au cabinet dentaire ou à l’hôpital, dés que possible après la naissance. Sans titre 52

La plaque palatine ou plaque de tétée est confectionnée en résine mixte (partie extérieure centrale en résine rigide et  partie interne, en contact avec la muqueuse, en résine molle, flexible).

Elle est parfaitement adaptée au palais du bébé et celui-ci s’y adapte en quelques heures voire quelques jours au plus. La plaque de tétée permet une alimentation plus facile, car elle sert d’obturateur et comble ainsi la communication oro-nasale. Le nourrisson peut téter, sucer et aspirer le lait de manière pratiquement normale. La plaque remplit un autre rôle important dans le cadre de la prise en charge précoce de séquelles de fentes dans notre team.

La première intervention précoce que subira le bébé est la fermeture de la fente du palais postérieur (voile du palais) vers l’âge de 4 mois. Les fines sutures qui permettront cette fermeture chirurgicale sont, comme on peut l’imaginer, très graciles et relativement vulnérables. La plaque de tétée remplira un rôle important dans la protection de ces sutures contre toute aggression extérieure (lolette, doigts, biberon, jouets, etc…).

Après la deuxième intervention chirurgicale (fermeture du palais antérieur ou palais dur, et fermeture de la lèvre), la plaque n’est plus nécessaire. Les contacts avec les membres de l’équipe s’espaceront car une prise en charge ne s’impose plus dès lors et pour quelque temps. Des contrôles de routine auprès du pédiatre, du chirurgien pédiatrique, de l’orthodontiste et de l’ORL seront organisés.

Vers l’âge de 6 ans, un premier examen-bilan sera nécessaire. Il sera organisé sous la forme d’un colloque pluri-disciplinaire, avec le team au complet réuni pour examiner l’enfant, déterminer ses besoins et planifier la prise en charge thérapeutique active, si elle s’impose.

A cet âge, la priorité n’est pas (encore) orthodontique. Les dents de lait sont encore toutes en place (même si elle n’ont pas toujours assez de place…), mais on se limite à observer la situation, de discuter des problèmes réels ou potentiels et de fournir des conseils d’hygiène.

La priorité est logopédique. L’enfant va bientôt entrer à l’école primaire. Une FLMP est parfois associée avec des problèmes de développement, d’acquisition du langage. Souvent, un certain degré de rhinolalie (nasonnement) est observé. Le palais mou (voile du palais), responsable de la fermeture physiologique des voies aériennes postérieures, n’est parfois pas en mesure d’assurer cette fermeture lorsque le patient essaie d’articuler certains sons.

Si une trop grande quantité d’air s’échappe par le nez, les sons subissent une altération audible: la rhinolalie. Le palais mou,  bien qu’il soit réparé (à l’âge de quatre mois environ) en utilisant une technique chirurgicale peu traumatique et attentive  à la reconstruction d’un réseau musculaire s’approchant de la normalité, présente des séquelles cicatricielles diminuant sa mobilité.

Des phénomènes de compensation peuvent être développés naturellement ou grâce à la thérapie logopédique. Cette prise en charge s’impose comme une priorité absolue à l’âge préscolaire, et cela pour des raisons évidentes d’intégration sociale de l’enfant. La plupart du temps, la thérapie logopédique permet une réduction sensible voire même une élimination de la rhinolalie.

Dans certains cas malheureusement résistants à cette thérapie, une intervention chirurgicale (la vélo-pharyngo-plastie) pourrait être envisagée. Elle consiste à créer un pont muqueux entre le palais mou et la partie postérieure du pharynx, réduisant « anatomiquement » le flux d’air expulsé lors de l’articulation des sons. C’est au cours des colloques pluri-disciplinaires que se discutent ces alternatives. La logopédiste de l’équipe pluri-disciplinaire participe aux colloques et peut déterminer les indications thérapeutiques logopédiques de chaque enfant examiné lors de ces colloques.

Oto-rhino-laryngologie (ORL), spécialité médicale nez-gorge-oreilles.

Les fentes faciales affectent la sphère ORL de diverses manières et à plusieurs niveaux. Les déviations du septum (cloison nasale), que l’on rencontre fréquemment et qui peuvent être parfois importantes, affectent la respiration. Il y a les risques accrus d’otites de l’oreille moyenne. Toute perte de l’acuité auditive durant la prime enfance peut avoir des conséquences néfastes, voire désastreuses sur le développement et l’acquisition du langage. Pour ces raisons, des contrôles réguliers chez l’ORL du team, qui est également spécialisé en audio-phonologie, revêtent une importance primordiale.

A tout moment, au cours du développement de l’enfant puis de l’adolescent, des problèmes psychologiques liés aux séquelles physiques de sa malformation peuvent surgir. Des difficultés d’adaptation, si elles sont plutôt rares, n’en demeurent pas moins handicapantes et doivent pouvoir trouver une oreille attentive et recevoir des conseils spécialisés. Les parents eux-mêmes peuvent avoir besoin de soutien et de conseils psychologiques, afin de surmonter des difficultés passa-gères liées à l’état de leur enfant.

Mme. J. Depars, psychologue de l’équipe, spécialisée dans les problèmes de la jeunesse et de l’adolescence, saura être cette oreille attentive: les parents et/ou l’enfant pourront à tout moment avoir recours à ses conseils et/ou à ses services thérapeutiques. Elle est l’auteur de « Zoé et le flocon de Max« , un livre destiné à l’information des petits autour de la problématique des fentes faciales, ouvrage que nous recommandons chaleureusement.

Les patients sont examinés à intervalles réguliers lors de colloques pluri-disciplinaires réunissant tous les membres de l’équipe FLMP. Ces colloques sont l’occasion de faire un bilan périodique de l’état de santé de l’enfant et de surveiller son développement sous ses multiples facettes. Pour les parents, ces bilans sont l’occasion d’exprimer leurs demandes, de poser de nombreuses questions, de recevoir une information diversifiée, individualisée et la plus complète et directe possible.

Et de connaître toutes les personnes qui pourront venir en aide à leur enfant ou les aider à affronter certaines difficultés, qu’elles soient d’ordre physique ou psychologique.

 

 

une question? une info personnelle?      contactez-nous

Votre nom (obligatoire)

Votre email (obligatoire)

Sujet

Votre message

Laisser un commentaire

les fentes faciales: séquelles et solutions thérapeutiques ………………………………………………… cleft lip & palate: sequelae & therapeutic solutions ……………………………………………….. Lippen-Kiefer-Gaumenspalten: ihre Konzequenzen und die therapeutischen Lösungen